Board of Studies

Responsible for curriculum approval, including all individual taught courses, MOOCs, non-credit bearing CPD courses and the undergraduate, taught postgraduate, and research postgraduate degree programmes.

This provides assurance of open discussion within the School, appropriate consultation with other Schools, and approval of submissions to the relevant College committees. The Board may be asked through College committees to consider and respond to academic policy matters.

The full remit is available (pdf) (This is the revised version published February 2019).


Board of Studies Dates for 2019/2020*

Meetings of the Board are held at 2.00pm on Wednesday afternoons.

Please make sure you check you are attending the correct room as the venue changes from meeting to meeting do to resource constraints. Most meetings will take place in the Informatics Forum, however are subject to change.

Meeting Date


16th October 2019 14.00hrs - 16.00hrs Appleton Tower Room G:05
20th November 2019 14.00hrs - 16.00hrs Appleton Tower Room G:05
11th December 2019 14.00hrs - 16.00hrs Appleton Tower Room 7:14
15th January 2020 14.00hrs - 16.00hrs Appleton Tower Room 7:14
19th February 2020 14.00hrs - 16.00hrs Appleton Tower Room 7:14


* Please note that the dates and times stated above are subject to change due to the Curriculum Approval changes.



All Informatics academic teaching staff, supplemented by at least two members external to the School and at least two student representatives.

Board of Studies Convenor - School of Informatics Stuart Anderson
Academic Secretary - School of Informatics Alan Smaill
Administrative Secretary - School of Informatics Anne MacKenzie (temp)
School Curriculum Approval Officer - School of Informatics Stephen Gilmore
UG Admissions Officer - School of Informatics Shay Cohen
Curriculum Review - School of Informatics Sharon Goldwater
Quality Assurance  - School of Informatics Vicky Mactaggart
Learning Technologist  - School of Informatics Alex Burford

Academic Support Librarian for School of Informatics

Angela Nicholson

Student Representative members - School of Informatics

Qais Patankar / Tim Loderhose

External members for 2018/19

School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences Representative James Kirby
School of Engineering Representative

David Laurenson

School of Mathematics Representative Heather Yorston
School of Biological Sciences Representative Simon Tomlinson

Related Documents