Directory of experts

The list of experts within the School of Informatics.

 If you would like to be added to the directory of experts, fill in in the form below.

Fill in the form

 

Surname First name Email Address Area of Expertise
Aspinall David david.aspinall@ed.ac.uk Cyber Security and Privacy.
Bundy Alan a.bundy@ed.ac.uk Artificial Intelligence (symbolic, not Machine Learning/Data Mining), Automated Reasoning, Automated Conceptual Change.
Cohen Shay scohen@inf.ed.ac.uk Natural Language Processing, Machine Learning.
Fisher Bob rbf@inf.ed.ac.uk Computer Vision, Image Processing, Video Analysis.
Grot Boris boris.grot@ed.ac.uk All aspects of computer architecture, including CPUs, Parallel Processing (many-core and many-node computers), Memory Systems and Interconnection Networks. Servers and data centers, systems with quality-of-service guarantees.
Herrmann J. Michael michael.herrmann@ed.ac.uk Self-organisation, Complex Adaptive Systems, Metaheuristic Optimisation, autonomous agents and Robotics.
Heunen Chris chris.heunen@ed.ac.uk Quantum Computing.
Lapata Mirella mlap@inf.ed.ac.uk Natural Language Processing.
Lascarides Alex alex@inf.ed.ac.uk Computational Linguistics.
Lopez Adam alopez@inf.ed.ac.uk Natural Language Processing, especially (but not exclusively) topics related to multilinguality and translation.
Luger Ewa

ewa.luger@ed.ac.uk

The ethics of intelligent machines, in particular how complex data-driven systems might be made intelligible to the user, through design. Consent around data collection and helping developers design systems that are non-problematic in this regard.

Magdy Walid wmagdy@inf.ed.ac.uk Social Media Analytics, stance and political bias prediction, Computional Social Science, Data Mining, information retrieval.
Nagarajan Vijay vijay.nagarajan@ed.ac.uk Memory Consistency models, Cache Coherence protocols, Memory systems, Distributed systems.
Papapanagiotou Petros pe.p@ed.ac.uk Artificial Intelligence, process improvement, workflow management, technology integration and innovation, Health Informatics, care pathways, healthcare data management, formal verification.
Patras Paul ppatras@inf.ed.ac.uk Wireless networking, mobile systems, IoT Security & Privacy.
Ramamoorthy Subramanian (Ram) s.ramamoorthy@ed.ac.uk Robotics, Machine Learning, Decision Science.
Rovastsos Michael mrovatso@inf.ed.ac.uk Artificial Intelligence, Ethics of AI, Human-AI Interaction, Social Computing, Collective Inteligence, Explainable AI, Algorithmic Fairness.
Simpson Ian ian.simpson@ed.ac.uk Bioinformatics, Computational Biology and Neuroscience.
Stark Ian ian.stark@ed.ac.uk Programming languages, particularly: type systems for programming, functional languages, modelling concurrent computation.
Stevens Perdita perdita.stevens@ed.ac.uk Software engineering, especially mathematical aspects of model-driven development: e.g., how the development of software may change in the future as a result of better use of models adapted to the needs of different stakeholders.
Vaniea Kami kvaniea@inf.ed.ac.uk Human factors of Cyber Security and Privacy software updates, most questions around "how does an average person stay safe online".
Vijayakumar Sethu sethu.vijayakumar@ed.ac.uk Professor of Robotics at Edinburgh University and Director of the Edinburgh Center for Robotics. I have expertise in all aspects of robotics: planning, sensing and control. My specialty is the application of Machine Learning and AI for the intelligent control of advanced robotic platforms and robot learning. I am a judge on BBC Robot Wars, have been involved with the launch of the UK wide BBC micro:bit initiative (www.microbit.org) and the winner of the Tam Dalyell Prize for excellence in science communication. I am a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and hold the Microsoft-Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Robotics.
Webb Barbara b.webb@ed.ac.uk Robotics, specifically biologically-inspired Robotics, navigation and learning in insects.