Portfolio Management

Portfolio Managers are the first point of contact for staff seeking or receiving external funding in the School of Informatics.

Staff member Area of Responsibility Email (or contact through MS Teams)
Caroline Hastings ILCC and CSTR chasting@inf.ed.ac.uk
Joanne Pennie IPAB joanne.pennie@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Williams AIAI and IPAB fiona.williams@ed.ac.uk
Laura Rich LFCS laura.rich@ed.ac.uk
Carrie McNamee LFCS cmcnamee@ed.ac.uk
Barry Turner ANC and ILCC barry.turner@ed.ac.uk
Louise Foster ICSA, Speckled lfoster@ed.ac.uk
Janet Ball Head of Research Services janet.ball@ed.ac.uk

Portfolio Managers are responsible for the management of all institute grants and awards.

Main responsibilities

  • Grant proposal preparation and costing
  • funding opportunities and funder queries
  • financial management of grant portfolios and institute budgets
  • research staff contract extensions and end of employment process
  • advertisement of research grant funded positions
  • appointment of research staff, in collaboration with Human Resources
  • commitment of studentship funds and offers, in collaboration with the Informatics Graduate School