Funding and prizes

A comprehensive list of funding options available to Informatics students, as well as more information about prizes awarded throughout the programme.



Please note: this list is under review


Accenture sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

The British Computer Society

The British Computer Society Prize is awarded for top performance in the third-year Professional Issues course.

Siobhan Clarke and Family

The Kevin Clarke Memorial Prize was established in 1993 in memory of Kevin Clarke, and is awarded to the best final-year student performance in Computer Science and Mathematics.

Equality and Diversity Committee

The School of Informatics awards a prize/prizes for Best Final-Year Performance by Female Students. This prize is awarded by the School of Informatics Equality & Diversity Committee, to support female students in Informatics.


Google sponsor two prizes: one for top performance in the CS/SE Individual Practical course, taught in the third year; and another for the highest-performing student in Phase 1 of the MInf Project. They also sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

JP Morgan

The JP Morgan Morgan Prize for Computer Science is awarded to the student who has obtained the highest overall mark in the BSc/BEng Computer Science Degree.

Jim Howe

The Jim Howe Trust Fund sponsors two prizes: the Howe Undergraduate Prize for the best performance in Artificial Intelligence by a final-year student, and the Howe Masters Prize awarded to the best student performance on the Artificial Intelligence MSc.

Sidney Michaelson and Family

The Sidney Michaelson and Family Prize was established in 1991 in memory of Sidney Michaelson and is awarded to the most deserving student who has triumphed in their studies despite adverse circumstances.

Microsoft Research

The Microsoft Research Prize is awarded for the best undergraduate final-year project.

Morgan Stanley

Morgan Stanley sponsor two prizes, for Top Performance in Penultimate Year for Computer Science and Software Engineering.

The Claire Jones Prize

The Claire Jones Prize is awarded to the best performing female MSc student.  The prize is sponsored by Adelard.


Amazon sponsor the System Design Project Technical Project prize.


KAL sponsor the System Design Project Presentation prize.


Robotical sponsor the System Design Project Technical Innovation prize.


Github sponsor a System Design Project prize.

Sky Digital

Sky Digital sponsor a System Design Project prize.