Student prizes

The Informatics Student Prize Scheme aims to recognize and reward excellent performance across the curriculum.

For past winners of prizes, please visit our archive of School prize winners.

The School of Informatics wishes to thank all of the following sponsors for their support.


Amazon sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

The British Computer Society

The British Computer Society Prize is awarded for top performance in the third-year Professional Issues course.

Capgemini Invent

frog, as part of Capgemini Invent, sponsor a Systems Design Project prize. 

Adelard Claire Jones Prize

Claire Jones was a PhD student at the University of Edinburgh from 1985-89, where after she went on to work as a Research Fellow in the University's Department of Computer Science. She then went on to work for and with a variety of esteemed institutions, from the Ministry of Defence, the Swedish Defence Ministry and Adelard, the last of which kindly sponsor the prize for the Best Performing Female MSc student.

Siobhan Clarke and Family

The Kevin Clarke Memorial Prize was established in 1993 in memory of Kevin Clarke, and is awarded to the best final-year student performance in Computer Science and Mathematics.

Edinburgh Innovations

Edinburgh Innovations sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

EG Technology

EG Technology sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

Entrepreneur First

Entrepreneur First sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

Equality and Diversity Committee

The School of Informatics awards a prize/prizes for Best Final-Year Performance by  Woman Students. This prize is awarded by the School of Informatics Equality & Diversity Committee, to support woman students in Informatics. 

Jim Howe

The Jim Howe Trust Fund sponsors two prizes: the Howe Undergraduate Prize for the best performance in Artificial Intelligence by a final-year student, and the Howe Masters Prize awarded to the best student performance on the Artificial Intelligence MSc.


KAL sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.

Sidney Michaelson and Family

The Sidney Michaelson and Family Prize was established in 1991 in memory of Sidney Michaelson and is awarded to the most deserving student who has triumphed in their studies despite adverse circumstances.

Microsoft Research

The Microsoft Research Prize is awarded for the best undergraduate final-year project.

Rank Xerox

Rank Xerox sponsor a prize for the best performing student in the Informatics Large Practical course.

Robert J. Glushko 

Robert J. Glushko sponsors a prize for Undergraduate excellence in Cognitive Science


UserTesting sponsor a Systems Design Project prize.