Health, Safety & Wellbeing Committee

An overview of Health, Safety & Wellbeing Committee


To advise the Head of School on health, safety and security matters within the School.

To review the School's health and safety policy and safe codes of working practice.

To act as a forum for consultation and discussion on matters relating to health, safety and security. 

To examine and discuss the findings of internal and external safety inspections and audits. 

To examine the School's accident and near-miss incident reports.

To promote the wellbeing of staff and students.



Member Category How Appointed Incumbent
Head of School (Chair) Ex officio Jane Hillston
Facilities & Technical Services Manager Ex officio Dave Hamilton
School Laser Supervisor Ex officio Bob Fisher
Director of Professional Services Ex officio Joy Candlish
M.S.F. Union Representative Ex officio Douglas Howie
Facilities Supervisor Ex officio Carol Marini
Computing Representative Appointed Alison Downie
Technical Representative Appointed Tom Whigham
IPAB Representative Appointed Vladamir Ivan
Design Informatics Representative Appointed Mark Kobine
Admin Representative Appointed  Nicola Drago-Ferrante
Academic Staff Representative Appointed Cristina-Adriana Alexandru
Informatics Student Services Representative Appointed  Patrick Hudson
Research Staff Representative Appointed Vacant
PGR Student Representative Appointed Vacant
  Co-opted Carol Dow

In attendance as required

PDRA Development Co-ordinator Ex officio                                                      Michael Gutmann                                                             

Officer to the Committee: Facilities & Technical Services Manager

Clerk to the Committee:  Facilities Supervisor

Appointment of Members and term of office

Appointed members shall be appointed from the respective constituency with the support of the membership of that constituency.

Appointed members shall serve for a term of two consecutive years with the option of an extension for a further year.


Others may be in attendance at meetings of the Committee, at the discretion of the Chair, as the business of the committee may determine.


At the discretion of the Chair, members who are unable to attend may nominate a substitute, who will act with the member’s authority.


To Strategy Committee via Head of School.

Frequency of meetings

The Committee meets at least once per year.


Minutes and Papers

All papers presented to this committee must use the template below:

Date Agenda Papers Minutes
12th December 2019  
17th June 2019  
6th December 2017  
31st May 2017  
30th September 2016    
13th February 2015    


Minutes of previous meetings.

Raising an Issue

Any member of School who wishes to raise a health and safety or security related item at this Committee should inform their Committee Representative or the Health and Safety Manager/Assistant.

Health & Safety Contacts



Multi-Occupancy Building Users Group (MOBUG) Committees are established for Appleton Tower, the Forum and Potterrow to focus on fire safety related issues. The convener, Dave Hamilton, is given the authority by the Head of School to ensure that all fire safety matters appertaining to both buildings are maintained. The MOBUG committees have representatives from the Fire Safety Unit, Estates and Buildings and each Department or Unit occupying the building.