ICSA success at CC/GCO 2024

Edinburgh, 2-6 March 2024

Congratulations go to the ICSA members who contributed to a successful CC/CGO 2024!


Distinguished  Paper Award

Murray Cole and Bjoern Franke received the Distinguished Paper award for their paper entitled:

Revealing Compiler Heuristics through Automated Discovery and Optimization

This paper was co-authored with former ICSA members Hugh Leather, Chris Cummins and Volker Seeker who now work at MetaAI.

This is Murray's second distinguished CGO paper award.


Test of Time Award at CGO 2024

Michael O'Boyle received the 2014 Test of Time Award  for his paper entitled:

Portable Mapping of Data Parallel Programs to OpenCL for Heterogeneous Systems

This paper co-authored with former ICSA members Dominic Grewe (DeepMind) and Zheng Wang (University of Leeds).

This award is for the most impactful paper from a decade ago. 

This is Michael's third CGO Test of Time award.


Accepted papers

CGO 2024

"A Tensor Algebra Compiler for Sparse Differentiation"

by  Amir Shaikhha (University of Edinburgh), Mathieu Huot (University of Oxford), Shideh Hashemian (University of Edinburgh)

CC 2024

"UNIFICO: Thread Migration in Heterogeneous-ISA CPUs without State Transformation"

by Nikolaos Mavrogeorgis (University of Edinburgh), Christos Vasiladiotis (University of Edinburgh), Pei Mu (University of Edinburgh), Amir Khordadi (University of Edinburgh), Björn Franke University of Edinburgh), Antonio Barbalace (University of Edinburgh)

CC 2024

"CoSense: Compiler Optimizations using Sensor Technical Specifications"

by Pei Mu (University of Edinburgh), Nikos Mavrogeorgis (University of Edinburgh), Chris Vasiladiotis (University of Edinburgh), Vasileios Tsoutsouras (University of Cambridge), Orestis Kaparounakis (University of Cambridge), Phillip Stanley-Marbell (University of Cambridge), Antonio Barbalace (University of Edinburgh)


Student Research Competitions - 1st place awards for ICSA students 

The ACM Student Research Competition (SRC) offers a forum for undergraduate and graduate students to present their original research before a panel of judges and attendees at CGO.

To participate in the competition, students were required to submit an extended abstract (500 words) which were then reviewed by a selection committee.  Selected abstracts were then invited to present as posters at the conference. The best three posters selected at the conference were then invited to give a short presentation the following day. 

Competition winners were selected based on the submitted abstract, the poster, and the presentation.  Winners of the CGO SRC awards will be invited to participate in the grand 2024 ACM SRC competition.


Graduate category

1st place - Jingwen Pan (supervisor: Amir Shaikhha)

Title: Compiling Approximate Computation to Probabilistic Programs

Undergraduate category

1st place - Callum Groeger (supervisor: Amir Shaikhha)

Title: A Unified Framework for Query Compilers


Useful links 

ACM SIGPLAN 33rd International Conference on Compiler Construction (CC 24)

The International Symposium on Code Generation and Optimization (CGO 24)

ACM Student Research Competition (SRC)